Video Game Hall of Fame 2017 Inductees


The following titles were inducted into the Video Game Hall of Fame for 2017:

  • Donkey Kong (1981)
  • Halo: Combat Evolved (2001)
  • Pokémon Red and Green/Blue (1996)
  • Street Fighter II: The World Warrior (1991)


The Video Game Hall of Fame was established in 2015, and it (from its own website) “recognizes individual electronic games of all types—arcade, console, computer, handheld, and mobile—that have enjoyed popularity over a sustained period and have exerted influence on the video game industry or on popular culture and society in general.”

The 4 new titles join the following inductees from the prior 2 years:



  • The Legend of Zelda (1986)
  • The Oregon Trail (1971)
  • The Sims (2000)
  • Sonic the Hedgehog (1991)
  • Space Invaders (1978)



  • Doom (1993)
  • Pac-Man (1980)
  • Pong (1972)
  • Super Mario Bros. (1985)
  • Tetris (1984)
  • World of Warcraft (2004)


They are accepting nominations for 2018 now.

Post Author: meeko

Meeko is a child of the 80s, and a lifelong video gamer, dating back to the Atari 2600. His favorite genres of games are RPGs, Platformers, and Shoot 'Em Ups. In addition to video games, Meeko also loves cartoons and anything else that is cool.